Please Allow Me to Introduce Myself

You might ask how a kid from Southern Mississippi fell in love with soccer while all the mainstream southern favorites, such as American football and baseball, eluded his interest.  I, like so many before me, fell victim to what is known as “the little brother syndrome.”  My older brother by five years carved the path of soccer that I happily followed until eventually deciding it was exactly where I belonged.

During my playing career, I was involved in many different levels of competition. While playing for Mississippi’s ODP program, I was a member of the Chicago Fire’s Mississippi-based academy team. Afterwards, I went on to play collegiate soccer at William Carey University, while earning my Finance Degree along the way. During my time playing college soccer, I took place in a final four run in the NAIA National Tournament.

Off the field, I have been equally as active in the soccer world. From refereeing, to coaching, and now writing, I have embraced most aspects of the sport and see no slowing in my future. Prior to the 2014 World Cup, I helped in the formation of American Outlaws: Hattiesburg Chapter and joined the outstanding AO family. Having recently moved to Florida, I have been fortunate enough to be given opportunities to get more involved with soccer. A recent trip to Boca Raton to watch the USMNT play Honduras and my involvement with The Mane Land are just two of the shining examples that come to mind.

First and foremost, I am a fan with a particular love and passion for the USMNT, accompanied by all things American soccer. Orlando City SC has become my adopted team, whose community has embraced me with open arms. I keep a special interest on American players playing in Europe, while also supporting my lifelong club Arsenal FC.

I look forward to contributing to The Mane Land as we transition into our involvement with SB Nation and bringing my take on OCSC as they begin their inaugural season in 2015.

3 thoughts on “Please Allow Me to Introduce Myself”

Leave a Reply

