‘Hello’ From the New Guy

My passion for soccer began way back in 1994 when my dad took me to the World Cup game between the Netherlands and Ireland. At this point in my life I was only three years old, and I honestly can’t remember anything from the game itself. But that specific moment marked the beginning of my relationship with the beautiful game.

As I grew up in the States, basketball took most of my focus. It is still a big part of my life, having been an assistant coach with the Rollins College basketball team for the past four years. However, the one thing that really brought soccer back into focus for me, were my British background and the FIFA video game series. The earliest rendition of the game I remember playing was FIFA 2001.

I played with Chelsea and won just about every game I played with my friends. Since then, Chelsea FC has become my club of choice in the Premier League, much to the chagrin of my family, and I have taken to soccer much more enthusiastically. Visits to see my family in England allowed me to go to ‘football matches’ at Chelsea and at Wembley Stadium for an international friendly between England and the U.S. when David Beckham received his 100th cap for the English national team.

Where it all began
Where it all began for me

When Orlando City came to town in 2011, I was excited about what could happen with a small minor league soccer team in Florida. To see how much the club has grown over the past few years is incredible. Now, with the transition into MLS in 2015, Orlando City SC is becoming one of the hot attractions in the city, and the hype can only grow from here.

Over the last few years, I have co-hosted a sports talk show, the Community Sports Report, originally spearheaded by now mlssoccer.com and Orlando Sentinel writer J.C. Carnahan. My coverage for the show mainly involves basketball and, of course, Orlando City SC. I have written articles about OCSC for The Howl FC, as well as The Sandspur. I am also involved in the Rollins College soccer program, having done the color commentary for the men’s and women’s games over the last year.

I am looking forward to taking my talents to The Mane Land and writing some articles about the team for this iconic year, as well as editing some nifty videos for the site.

One thought on “‘Hello’ From the New Guy”

Leave a Reply

